Friday, March 25, 2011

Voice Of The Beehive - Let It Bee (1988)

Let It Bee is the debut album from alternative rock band Voice of the Beehive. Released in 1988 on London Records, the album earned positive reviews from music crititcs and was a success on U.S. college radio stations. In the UK, the album reached #13 on the album chart in its debut week ending 2 July 1988. The group had their first hit single in the UK with "Don't Call Me Baby", which reached #15 and earned them their first Top 20 placing.

Several singles were issued both before and after the release of the album. Let It Bee contained two bonus tracks on the U.S. edition (they were not listed on the CD cover, but were listed within the text on the CD).

Voice of the Beehive are an Anglo-American college rock/alternative band, formed in London in 1986 by Californian sisters Tracey Bryn and Melissa Brooke Belland, daughters of The Four Preps singer, Bruce Belland.

Voice of the Beehive were formed in 1986 by the Californian sisters Tracey Belland (vocals/guitar) and Melissa Belland (vocals) with UK band members Martin Brett (bass guitar), Woody Woodgate (drums) and Mike Jones (guitar). The band's initial success came in the UK, U.S. and Australia. The band had five Top 40 singles from two albums in the UK.

Their biggest commercial success came with the singles, "Don't Call Me Baby", "Monsters and Angels", "I Think I Love You", "I Walk The Earth" and "I Say Nothing" from their first two albums Let It Bee and Honey Lingers. In 1995 the band released a third album Sex & Misery. The band reformed in 2003 to play a two week UK tour averaging 5000 seaters per night. Tracey Belland is a teacher in Laguna Beach, California. Melissa Belland runs her own company "Made In Heaven" also in Laguna Beach, California. Martin Brett runs Brett Dempsey Music Productions in London and is a member of two bands I, Ludicrous and Dollshouse. He also trained to become a facial hair specialist for Film, Theatre & TV in 2010. Woody Woodgate still plays drums in Madness. Mike Jones lives in Norwich and still plays guitar.

Let It Bee
Tracey Belland (v/g), Melissa Belland (v), Martin Brett (b), Woody Woodgate (d), Mike Jones (g)

Track listing

1."The Beat of Love" (Brooke/Bryn/Nack) - 4:02
2. "Sorrow Floats" (Bryn) - 4:16
3. "Don't Call Me Baby" (Bryn/Jones) - 3:05 Outstanding Track
4. "Man in the Moon" (Brooke/Bryn) - 3:12
5. "What You Have Is Enough" (Bryn) - 2:33
6. "Oh Love" (Brooke/Jones) - 2:58
7. "I Walk the Earth" (Nack) - 3:40 Outstanding Track
8. "Trust Me" (Bryn) - 3:17
9. "I Say Nothing" (Bryn/Jones) - 3:24 Outstanding Track
10. "There's a Barbarian in the Back of My Car" (Bryn/Mindwarp) - 2:35
11. "Just a City" (Bryn/Jones) - 4:26
12. "This Weak" (bonus track, U.S. only) - 3:14
13. "Jesus" (bonus track, U.S. only) - 3:24

Line Up

Tracey Belland (vocals/guitar)
Melissa Belland (vocals)
Martin Brett (bass guitar)
Woody Woodgate (drums)
Mike Jones (guitar)


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...