Thursday, March 3, 2011

The Colourfield - Deception (1987)

Deception was to be the last album released by the British new wave band, The Colourfield. During the recording of the album Karl Shale left during the sessions. Terry has since voiced his displeasure with the recording of the album because he did not feel he had the control of the session musicians and producers the way he needed to preserve The Colourfield’s sound.

Deception was much less successful than its predecessor Virgins and Philistines, and only reached #95 in the UK. It was promoted by two singles both cover versions. The first "Running Away" a cover of the Sly and the Family Stone hit made #84, the second single "She" (originally performed by The Monkees) didn't chart at all.

In 2010, the album along with Virgins and Philistines was re-released on CD in the UK by Cherry Red records additional with bonus tracks.

Terry Hall,Toby Lyons

Track listing

(All tracks written by Terry Hall and Toby Lyons, except as indicated.)
Tears For Fears Roland Orzabal played guitar on "Running Away" and "Confession"

1. "Badlands" 4:47
2. "Running Away" (Written by Freddie Stewart and Sly Stone) 3:56
3. "From Dawn to Distraction" 3:42
4. "Confession" 4:37
5. "Miss Texas 1967" 4:13
6. "She" (Written by Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart) 3:22
7. "Running Away" 4:01
8. "Digging it Deep" 3:54
9. "Monkey in Winter" 5:16
10. "Goodbye Sun Valley" 4:42

nWu Bonus

11. "The Colour Field (Extended Version)" 3:52
12. "My Wild Flame (Extended Version)" 6:00
13. "Monkey In Winter (With Sinead O'Connor" 5:01
14. "Running Away (Arthur Baker Dub version)" 5:26
15. "Thinking Of You (Extended Version)" 5:57
16. "Castles In The Air (Extended Version)" 5:09
17. "Our Lips Are Sealed (by Fun Boy Three)" 3:42

1 comment:

  1. I have a cassette album of this since 1991 hahahaha. DECEPTION Album.


Blog Archive

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...