Tuesday, March 29, 2011

The Beautiful South - Gold (2006)

Gold by The Beautiful South is the third greatest hits album to be released by the band. It is similar in design to other "Gold" albums released by bands either currently or previously of various labels under the Universal Music Group. The album is a 2 disc collection of both single and album tracks taken from the first 8 of the bands back catalogue. It had zero input from the band.

The Beautiful South were an English alternative rock group formed at the end of the 1980s by two former members of Hull group The Housemartins, Paul Heaton and Dave Hemingway. The duo were initially joined by Sean Welch (bass), Dave Stead (drums) and Dave Rotheray (guitar), all of whom stayed with the group throughout their 19-year career. Later additions included female vocalist Briana Corrigan; she was replaced by Jacqui Abbott, who in turn was replaced by Alison Wheeler.

The group broke up in January 2007, claiming the split was due to "musical similarities", having sold around 6,500,000 records worldwide. In January 2009, it was announced that the former members Dave Hemingway, Alison Wheeler, and Dave Stead would reform under the name New Beautiful South which was later changed to The South.

Paul Heaton (v), Dave Hemingway (v), Dave Rotheray (g), Sean Welch (b), Dave Stead (d), Briana Corrigan (v), Jacqui Abbott (v), Alison Wheeler (v)

Disc one

1. "Song for Whoever"
2. "A Little Time"
3. "Prettiest Eyes"
4. "Don't Marry Her"
5. "Alone"
6. "The Table"
7. "Old Red Eyes is Back"
8. "Window Shopping for Blinds"
9. "Good as Gold (Stupid as Mud)"
10. "Closer Than Most"
11. "Baby Please Go"
12. "You Keep It All In"
13. "Dumb"
14. "36D"
15. "From Under the Covers"
16. "Let Love Speak Up Itself"
17. "Masculine Eclipse"
18. "Perfect 10"

Disc two

1. "Rotterdam (Or Anywhere)"
2. "Let Go with the Flow"
3. "Bell Bottomed Tear"
4. "I'll Sail This Ship Alone"
5. "Just a Few Things That I Ain't"
6. "Liars' Bar"
7. "Have You Ever Been Away"
8. "We Are Each Other"
9. "The Root of All Evil"
10. "Hit Parade"
11. "My Book"
12. "Losing Things"
13. "Everybody's Talkin'"
14. "Property Quiz"
15. "One Last Love Song"
16. "Mirror"
17. "One God"
18. "Blackbird on the Wire


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...