Friday, February 11, 2011

Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures (1979/2007 Remastered)

"Unknown Pleasures" is English post-punk band Joy Division's debut album, released in 1979 through Factory Records. Martin Hannett produced the record at Strawberry Studios, Stockport, England. The album sold poorly upon release, but due to the subsequent success of Joy Division with the 1980 single Love Will Tear Us Apart, Unknown Pleasures is now much more well-known. Factory boss Tony Wilson had so much faith in the band that he contributed his £8,500 life savings toward the cost of producing the initial run of 10,000 copies of the album. Released on June 15, 1979, Recorded the album between April 1 to 17, 1979 at Strawberry Studios, Stockport, England

The album was redistributed by Factory in its original vinyl form in July 1980, and re-issued in 1982. It was issued on cassette in November 1984, and on compact disc for the first time in April 1986. After the demise of Factory Records, the album was reissued on CD/cassette in July 1993 by Centredate-London, and issued by US label Qwest in 1989 on vinyl, CD, and cassette. The CD was reissued in January 1990. The album, along with Closer and Still, was remastered and re-released in 2007. The remaster came packaged with a bonus live disc, recorded at The Factory in Manchester, England on 13 July 1979.

Unknown Pleasures (FACT10 1979)
[Download 55mb]

LP (Factory FACT 10)
Side one "Outside"
1."Disorder" – 3:32stars png.png
2."Day of the Lords" – 4:49
3."Candidate" – 3:05
4."Insight" – 4:29
5."New Dawn Fades" – 4:47

Side two "Inside"
1."She's Lost Control" – 3:57
2."Shadowplay" – 3:55
3."Wilderness" – 2:38
4."Interzone" – 2:16
5."I Remember Nothing" – 5:53

Unknown Pleasures (2007 Re-mastered Album Version)


Disc: 1 [Download]
1. Disorder [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
2. Day Of The Lords [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
3. Candidate [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
4. Insight [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
5. New Dawn Fades [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
6. She’s Lost Control [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
7. Shadowplay [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
8. Wilderness [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
9. Interzone [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]
10. I Remember Nothing [2007 Re-mastered Album Version]

Disc: 2 [Download]
CD 2007 bonus disc: Live at The Factory, Manchester, 13 July 1979
1. Dead Souls (Live at The Factory '79)
2. The Only Mistake (Live at The Factory '79)
3. Insight (Live at The Factory '79)
4. Candidate (Live at The Factory '79)
5. Wilderness (Live at The Factory '79)
6. She’s Lost Control (Live at The Factory '79)
7. Shadowplay (Live at The Factory '79)
8. Disorder (Live at The Factory '79)
9. Interzone (Live at The Factory '79)
10. Atrocity Exhibition (Live at The Factory '79)
11. Novelty (Live at The Factory '79)
12. Transmission (Live at The Factory '79)



Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...