Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Care - Diamonds And Emeralds (1997)

Rescued from the vaults, the long lost recordings of the 80's cult duo Care. Moody, magnificent, melodic pop fromthe Liverpool legends Ian Broudie (Lightning Seeds) and Paul Simpson. Contains all the singles, plus B-sides, 12in mixes and unreleased tracks. U.K. release on BMG's Camdenlabel. 19 tracks, including 'My Boyish Days' and 'Flaming Sword'.

Care were a New Wave band formed by Paul Simpson and Ian Broudie in 1983 in Liverpool, England. Paul Simpson, is the vocalist of, The Wild Swans, whose songs include the 1981 single "The Revolutionary Spirit". Simpson has said that the Care single "Whatever Possessed You" was originally written by him as a Wild Swans song. An album was recorded but has never been released. The singles; "Whatever Possessed You," "Flaming Sword" a top 50 single in the United Kingdom in 1983 and "My Boyish Days," were put out as an album which also included B-sides and unfinished demo's entitled Diamonds and Emeralds in 1997.

According to Allmusic, the Care developed a cult following in Japan and the Philippines, where Care's songs were more popular than they were in England, kept the group's memory afloat. Noticing the demand for Care records on the Internet, Camden released Diamonds and Emeralds in 1997, a compilation of the duo's singles, B-sides, and tracks intended for Love Crowns and Crucifies. Collected without permission from either Simpson or Broudie, Diamonds and Emeralds nevertheless finally presented Care's majestic work on CD"

The band broke up in 1985 when Simpson left.

Diamonds And Emeralds
Ian Broudie (g/v), Paul Simpson

Track Listing

1. "Diamonds And Emeralds" Outstanding Track
2. "Evening In The Ray"
3. "Chandeliers" (Pinoy Ako)
4. "Flaming Sword" Outstanding Track
5. "Cymophane"
6. "Love Crowns And Crucifies"
7. "Temper Temper"
8. "White Cloud"
9. "Caretaking"
10. "My Boyish Days" [12" Version] Outstanding Track
11. "Sad Day For England"
12. "Soldiers And Sailors"
13. "Whatever Possessed You" Outstanding Track
14. "Such Is Life"
15. "What Kind Of World"
16. "Nature Prayed Upon"
17. "Flaming Sword" [12" Version] Outstanding Track
18. "Misericorde"
19. "Besides 1 & 2"

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...